Clinical Advisory Board

Professor Tim Davis – BMedSc, MB, W.Aust., DPhil Oxf., FRACP, MRCP (UK)

Professor Tim Davis is a consultant physician and endocrinologist at Fremantle Hospital, and professor of medicine at The University of Western Australia. He was awarded the Lifetime Achievement Award by the Australian Diabetes Society in 2021 for more than 40 years of research in diabetes. He has sat on numerous federal and state government advisory committees, and had involvement with leading advocacy groups for diabetes care.

Formerly a councillor of the Australian Diabetes Society, Professor Davis now co-leads the WA Health Department’s Diabetes and Endocrinology Clinical Network. He is principal investigator of the Fremantle Diabetes Studies, comprising a community-based cohort for large-scale prospective and longitudinal studies in diabetes. Professor Davis also continues to engage in global collaborations and regularly reviews papers for leading diabetes journals.


Dr Ele Ferrannini – MD

Dr Ele Ferrannini is a professor of medicine at the University of Pisa, an adjunct clinical professor of medicine at the University of Texas Health Science Center, and a senior research associate at the National Research Council’s Institute of Clinical Physiology.

He is the 2020 recipient of the American Diabetes Association’s Banting Medal for Scientific Achievement, in recognition of his significant, long-term contributions to the understanding, treatment and prevention of diabetes.

Dr Ferrannini is renowned for his contributions to insulin resistance and associated disorders, ß-cell function and dysfunction in vivo, the incretin effect, and the cardiovascular complications of diabetes. Dr Ferrannini has also done pioneering work in therapeutics, including DPP-4 and SGLT2 inhibition and bariatric surgery, receiving recognition on the Clarivate™ list of Highly Cited Researchers.


Dr David Kerr – MBChB, DM, FRCP, FRCP (Edin)
United States

David Kerr MD is the Director of Research and Innovation at the Sansum Diabetes Research Institute in Santa Barbara, California. Prior to this, he was Consultant Physician at Bournemouth Diabetes and Endocrine Center in the UK during which time he held a Gold Clinical Excellence Award for services to the National Health Service (NHS). Dr. Kerr is also the digital health lead for the Diabetes Technology Society.

His most recent endeavours focus on reducing the disproportionate burden of diabetes in underserved communities, particularly US Hispanic/Latino families, through the nexus of digital health technologies and democratizing knowledge. Dr. Kerr has published more than 400 articles and commentaries and has Google Scholar h-index of 50.



Associate Professor Michael Shanik – MD, FACP, FACE
United States

Associate Professor Michael Shanik is managing partner at Endocrine Associates of Long Island, PC and a clinical associate professor at Stony Brook University Hospital, New York. Dr Shanik has been an invited speaker at regional, national, and international meetings. He serves as principal investigator for many studies in diabetes and metabolism. Research interests include diabetes and cardiovascular and renal outcomes, major cardiovascular events, and novel therapies for diabetes.

Associate Professor Shanik earned his medical degree from New York Medical College and completed residency training in internal medicine at Long Island Jewish Medical Center, followed by a fellowship in endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism at North Shore-Long Island Jewish Health System. He is board certified in internal medicine, as well as endocrinology, diabetes and metabolism.


Professor Merlin Thomas – MBChB, PhD, FRACP, FAAHMS

Professor Merlin Thomas is a nephrologist, scientist and program leader in the Department of Diabetes at Monash University. He is founder and chief scientific officer of RAGE Biotech Ltd, and a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Health Medical Science. He is a leader in his field, publishing Nature review articles on the pathophysiology and management of diabetic kidney disease.

Dr Thomas is renowned as a researcher and educator with over 300 peer-reviewed publications, as well as the author of best-selling books The Longevity List and Fast Living Slow Ageing. His research focuses on the mechanisms of diabetic complications and new opportunities for their prevention and treatment.



Dr Alexander Turchin – MD, MS
United States

Dr Alexander Turchin is the director of quality for the division of endocrinology at Brigham and Women’s Hospital and an associate professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School. His research focuses on the treatment of patients with chronic cardiometabolic conditions using advanced electronic medical record data analytics, including causal inference, artificial intelligence and predictive modelling.

Dr Turchin is an immediate past chair of healthcare delivery and quality improvement interest group at the American Diabetes Association, and a member of the methods and data council at AcademyHealth. He is a Fellow of the American College of Medical Informatics and has been recognized as a Top Doctor by Boston Magazine. Dr Turchin has published over 100 papers and book chapters.